Your 2024 Guide To European Countries

Have Clothes, Will Travel

There are several ways to define Europe today, including geographically, according to the United Nations geoscheme, by what countries are in the European Union, by what countries are in the Schengen area, or by what countries are in the European Economic Area.

More Americans are moving to Europe because it’s home to many of the best countries to live in. If you’re interested in immigrating there, it’s essential to know how countries are included in different definitions of Europe to understand your options.

European Union

The European Union (E.U.) is a political and economic union of 27 member states. This international organization establishes shared economic, social, and security policies for its members. Twenty of these countries use the same currency: the Euro (€). E.U. citizens can freely move, work, or travel in any E.U. country.

European Union

In addition to these member states, the European Union is considering ten more countries to join its ranks as of November 2023: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Georgia, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Turkey, and Ukraine.

Schengen Area

The Schengen Area is a group of countries that have established a single area for international travel. If you’re not from a Schengen Area country, you can travel between them for 90 days within 180 days.

European Economic Area

All countries in the European Union are also in the European Economic Area (EEA), along with Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway. The EEA aims to create one large market for trade so goods and services can be exchanged freely. Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland are also members of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).

Countries Using the Euro (€)

The Euro (€) is currently the preferred currency for 20 of the 27 E.U. member states. It’s the second most-used currency in the world, after the U.S. dollar. Most countries in the European Union use the Euro as currency, though some non-EU countries also use the Euro.

You can view the complete list of "Your 2024 Guide To European Countries" by clicking the link below.